East Africa

IMG_2226 2010Working in East Africa

Jesuit Missions works closely with the Eastern Africa Jesuit Province. Formed in 1986 the province mainly consists of more than 200 Jesuits from Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Sudan and South Sudan. There are also many Jesuits missioned to the province from different parts of the world.

The Jesuits in East Africa are involved in a number of works including schools, universities, spirituality, refugee work, and social justice and communication, responding to the call of Christ to live and work in solidarity with the marginalized members of our human society.

Overview of our programs

The Jesuits run eight educational institutions and one vulnerable care program which also caters for primary, secondary and tertiary education of the beneficiaries. The educational institutions are spread through the six countries of our province and include both primary and secondary schools. The Province is also in the process of establishing the Jesuit University of Eastern Africa.

The Jesuits also run a vocational training centre in Rumbek, South Sudan, which mainly focuses on computer training, basic construction, water and sanitation and a farm school. These programs are aimed at instilling vocational skills to the local population.

The Province manages Radio Kwizera, a regional radio station in Ngara, Tanzania. The radio station was established in 1995 by the Jesuit Refugee Service in collaboration with the UNHCR and the Catholic Diocese of Rulenge, Ngara.

Our Social Justice section is run by the Jesuit Hakimani Centre in Nairobi, Kenya, and the Justice, Peace and Environment Program in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. These two programs address matters on insecurity, governance, Christian faith and peace building.

Lastly, the spirituality ministry mainly focuses on pastoral work (in Parishes) and spiritual development through retreats and days of recollection. The province runs four parishes; three in Tanzania and one in Kenya and two retreat centres in Kenya and Ethiopia.